Judges for 2018 Man Booker Prize Announced

The organizers of the Man Booker Prize has announced the judges for the fiction category of the 2018 edition of Man Booker Prize. Significantly, the prestigious organization that every year acknowledges extraordinary wordsmiths from across the world, is celebrating its 50th anniversary next year.

pic courtesy: @ManBookerPrize

The eminent philosopher Kwame Anthony Appiah will chair the 2018 panel of judges. Other dignitaries who will grace the panel include cultural critic Leo Robson; crime writer Val McDermid; artist and graphic novelist Leanne Shapton; and feminist writer and critic Jacqueline Rose.

‘This year’s judging panel is not only stellar in its distinction, its members have a stunningly broad range of tastes and enthusiasms too. They are all long-standing champions of creative work who will be open to any excellent novel that may come their way, regardless of genre or geography,’ says Gaby Wood, Literary Director of the Booker Prize Foundation. The reputed panel will collectively zero in on the best novel of the year from the entries published in the United Kingdom between 1 Oct. 2017 and 30 Sept. 2018.

It is noteworthy that the 2017 Man Booker Prize for Fiction was awarded to Lincoln in the Bardo written by American author George Saunders. The amazing novel was published by Bloomsbury. Interestingly, sales of Lincoln in the Bardo had witnessed a 1227 percent growth in the week following the announcement of the winner.

The jury will first come up with the ‘Man Booker Dozen’ of 12 or 13 books in July 2018, followed by a shortlist of six books in September 2018. And finally, the award carrying a prize money of £50,000 will be announced on 16 October 2018 at an awards ceremony at London’s Guildhall. The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) will the broadcast the live event.

Man Group, an active investment management firm, sponsors the Man Booker Prize.


(Visited 105 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *